Sunday, August 30, 2009

2009 Design Awards Deadline Extended

Springfield LTD Station - PIVOT Architecture (2005 Merit Award winner)

We are extending the Entry Form and Fee deadline for the 2009 Design Awards to 4:00 PM on Friday, September 11, 2009. You now have more time to announce your intent to enter this prestigious awards program. Seize this opportunity and proudly offer your best work for consideration by the members of our accomplished jury. Download the Intent to Enter form from the AIA-SWO website by clicking this link.

Our jury stacks up more than favorably when compared to any other assembled at the national level in recent years. It truly is outstanding: Laura Hartman (Fernau + Hartman Architects), Robert Hull (The Miller/Hull Partnership), and David Lake (Lake/Flato Architects) all are recipients themselves of numerous AIA design and firm awards (including AIA Firm of the Year in 2003 for Miller/Hull and 2004 for Lake/Flato).

Don’t forget that your first entry for the 2009 Design Awards also entitles you to a significant discount on the cost of purchasing space in the 2009 Register-Guard insert. The insert will be published on Friday, October 9, 2009. This date coincides with a lecture at the University of Oregon by David Lake. The insert will announce his lecture, as well as promote a live, streaming video presentation on The Register-Guard website of the 2009 AIA-SWO (and AIA-Southern Oregon) Design Awards ceremony on Saturday, October 10, 2009, featuring commentary from the jury. It’s all part of a coordinated program by AIA-SWO to promote the value of design excellence in our community by raising the public’s awareness of architecture and its impact upon all of us.

No comments: