Tuesday, July 13, 2010

2010 AIA Northwest & Pacific Region Design Awards

Wayne L. Morse United States Courthouse, 2009 Honor Winner - Architects: DLR Group & Morphosis (photo by M.O. Stevens)

The American Institute of Architects Northwest & Pacific Region produces a Design Awards program each year. Its goal is to honor excellence in architectural design and to recognize the architects, clients, and consultants who work together to achieve design excellence.

This year’s Region Awards program is special because AIA-Southwestern Oregon is playing host. The assembly of the jury and its judging of the entries, as well as the presentation of the awards at the Region Awards Banquet, will all be part of the 2010 AIA Northwest & Pacific Region Conference, October 13-16, here in Eugene.

Interested? Here are the details:

2010 Jury
AIA-SWO has assembled a jury of esteemed architects, whose firms are the recipient of numerous past design awards themselves:
Eligible entries shall have won a design award in a professional juried awards program sponsored by a Chapter (state or local) in the AIA Northwest & Pacific Region. A project that receives an AIA National award is eligible, regardless if it won a Chapter award.

Projects must have received an award between January 1, 2005 and December 31, 2009 to be eligible. Projects must have been completed at the time the qualifying award was issued.

Planning projects, pre-design or other projects for which construction was not complete at the time of the award are not eligible.

Any member in a local chapter of the Region that has not had an awards program of its own in more than 2 years may enter the Region program. The project must have been completed between January 1, 2005 and December 31, 2009 to be eligible.

A qualifying award must be the result of a jury of professional peers and issued in a chapter’s award program. Awards co-sponsored by an AIA Chapter with another organization or entity are eligible, provided they meet the jury and date criteria.

Awards that are not eligible include those voted on by internet polls, polls of the broader membership, or issued by a single person. Examples of award that would not qualify include: People’s Choice Award, Mayor’s Award, Legacy Awards, Presidential Citations, etc.

Awards issued by AIA Chapters outside of the region, other than the AIA National Component, are not eligible; even if the award is given to a member within the region.

Intent to Enter
If you would like to submit an entry, download an "intent to enter letter" by clicking here.

The deadline for intent to enter letters and entry fees is Monday, August 16, 2010. Faxed or emailed letters, with check or credit card payment to follow, are acceptable. The entry fee is $165 per project.

No comments: