Sunday, November 20, 2016

2016 People’s Choice Award Winners

Each year, the American Institute of Architects, Southwestern Oregon Chapter (AIA-SWO), in collaboration with the Willamette Valley Section of the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA), sponsors the People’s Choice Awards for Architecture. These awards aim to educate and inspire our fellow citizens by showcasing architecture, interiors, and landscape architecture projects created within the Southwestern Oregon Chapter area by AIA or ASLA members. The program demonstrates to the public the role of the architectural profession in enhancing the built environment by showcasing the talents of AIA-SWO and ASLA members. 
This year’s edition marked the 27th year of the AIA-SWO People's Choice Awards, drawing 26 entrants across 8 categories. Presentation boards for the projects were displayed throughout the month of October in the Broadway Commerce Center lobby in downtown Eugene, debuting during October’s First Friday Art Walk. Balloting occurred both in person and also online via AIA-SWO’s website. 
The 2016 People’s Choice Award winners are:
Commercial: Coburg Medical - TBG Architects + Planners
Interiors: Howard Elementary School - PIVOT Architecture
Landscape: Courtyard Revival - Stangeland & Associates
Public / Institutional: Serenity Lane - TBG Architects + Planners
Multi-Family Housing: Boat House Apartments - Dustrud Architecture
Single Family Residential: Push Pull House - Speranza Architecture + Urban Design
Unbuilt: DEN Tiny House at Emerald Village - envelop design | architecture + interiors
Student: Clean Air - Elizabeth Poston, Chaz Kern, Darek Rayle 
Ancillary to the People’s Choice Awards is the Colleague’s Choice program. The Colleague’s Choice vote is meant to be a fun way for our AIA-SWO and ASLA members to weigh in on the question of which of their peers’ projects are most worthy of recognition. Here’s the listing of the Colleague’s Choice winners: 
Eugene City Hall - Rowell Brokaw Architects
Howard Elementary School - PIVOT Architecture
Thanks to the members of the People’s Choice Awards committee, who contributed so much toward the success of the program!

No comments: