Monday, September 30, 2013

2013 People’s Choice Awards

Each year, the American Institute of Architects, Southwestern Oregon Chapter (AIA-SWO) in collaboration with the American Society of Landscape Architects, Willamette Valley Section of the Oregon Chapter (ASLA) sponsors the People’s Choice Awards for Architecture. These awards aim to educate and inspire our fellow citizens by showcasing architecture, interiors and landscape architecture projects created within the Southwestern Oregon Chapter area or by members of our Chapter. The program demonstrates to the public the role of the architectural profession in enhancing the built environment. AIA-SWO invited the public to vote for their favorites in several categories during the Eugene Celebration this past August. 

I was unable to attend the presentation of the winners for the People’s Choice and Mayor’s Choice Awards (which occurred at the September 13 City Club of Eugene meeting), and also the Colleagues’ Choice program at the September AIA-SWO chapter meeting. Regardless, I would be remiss if I didn’t use my blog to announce the winners, so here they are: 

People's Choice Awards: 

Residential: Mulkey/Claassen Residence – Jim Givens Design 

Commercial: First on Broadway Mixed Use – Rowell Brokaw Architects (Christian Columbres Photography) 

Public/Institutional: Sprout! Regional Food Hub – Arbor South Architecture 

Interiors: The Penthouse – Arbor South Architecture 

Landscape: Hop Valley Brewery – Dougherty Landscape Architects (Photograph by Curtis Reed) 

Pyrenees Vineyard & Winery Event CenterArchitecture Building Culture 
Student Design: Fossie: A Floathouse for South Slough – Daniel Abrahamson, Assoc. AIA 

­Colleagues' Choice Awards:

Office for Bell + Funk – PIVOT Architecture (Jeff Amran Photography)
Richardson Sports Headquarters – PIVOT Architecture (Jeff Amran Photography)

Lane Community College Downtown Campus – Robertson/Sherwood/Architects pc + SRG + Pyatok Architects (Christian Columbres Photography)

Edwards Community Center – Rowell Brokaw (Christian Columbres Photography)

Mayor's Choice Awards:

Office for Bell + Funk – PIVOT Architecture (Jeff Amran Photography)

Stellar Apartments – Bergsund Delaney Architects & Planners 

Lane Community College Downtown Campus, Robertson/Sherwood/Architects pc + SRG + Pyatok Architects (Christian Columbres Photography)
All in all, the winners comprise a great collection of very worthy projects. The quality of work in our chapter area and by AIA-SWO members is getting better every year!

No comments: